Nutella Star Bread

I can present to you my second Nutella recipe: Nutella star bread.
You might have encountered it yet on the internet an I tried it out to share my experiences with you.
It is not very difficult to make, but it takes some time and afterwards my kitchen was quite dirty! I had to clean op flour in all the little spaces.

When the bread came out of the oven I was really impressed, thinking ‘Noooo, I didn’t make that!!’
And then it was time to taste! I was really excited, since it looked so good but… I didn’t like it. My mom thought it was okay, but I thought the dough wasn’t sweet enough and the taste of the yeast was too pronounced. To solve the first problem, you could just add more sugar. But I don’t know what to do about the second problem. Did I use too much yeast? I don’t know. I followed a recipe I found on the internet. Does anyone have tips?

If you would like to try it anyway. Here are the ingredients:
– 450 gr of flour
– a bowl of flour for sprinkling
– 180 ml of milk
– 2 egg yolks (use egg whites for brushing the bread)
– 8 gr of active dry yeast
– 30 gr of butter
– 70 gr of sugar (I would add 100 gr more)
– pinch of salt
– Big Nutella jar!

DSC03805First, pour milk into a saucepan and heat it to 30 C°. When the milk is warm, add yeast, a tablespoon of sugar and a tablespoon flour and dissolve all ingredients. Let it sit for 15 minutes to activate.

Sieve the rest of the flour above a big bowl, add sugar, salt, two egg yolks, and butter. At last, add the milk mixture and mix with a wooden spoon.

Then knead the dough for about seven minutes until it’s smooth and just a little bit sticky. Then put your dough back in the bowl, cover with a linen cloth, and set it in a warm place. Let it rise for around 40 minutes, it should double its size.

When the dough is almost ready, you can turn on an oven and preheat it to 180°C, and put your Nutella jar into a bowl with hot water.

When the 40 minutes have passed, place your dough on a lightly floured surface. Remember to keep some flour for sprinkling at hand. Knead a little more and divide into four equal parts.

Roll the first of four parts into a circle. The dough should be 2-3 mm thick. Place the dough circle on a piece of baking paper (I forgot this step, but with the help of my lovely mother and sister I managed to do it at the end). Now, take the bottom of a springform pan and mark it off on the first layer and cover the marked area with a thin layer of chocolate spread.

Roll another layer of dough, place it on the previous one and mark off again . Then, put the chocolate spread on the marked area. Repeat the procedure with the next layer. Put the last layer on the previous ones and cover it again with the bottom of the pan. Cut excess dough off with a knife.

Next, use a glass to mark the center of the bread. Divide the cake into quarters. Start cutting from the marked circle and leave the center intact! Then, divide every quarter into four parts. At the end you should have 16 parts.

Take two parts of the bread in both hands and delicately twist them in opposite directions, so not towards each other, and twist them twice. Repeat with all pairs to form a star. Twist the ends of each arm underneath to create a round shape.

Brush egg white on it and bake in the oven for around 15 to 20 minutes. For the first 10 minutes use only lower heater, then turn on the upper one too.

DSC03848And it should be ready. If you try it, let me know how it worked out!

Lots of love,
Laura

3 gedachtes over “Nutella Star Bread

    1. Thanks! That’s so sweet! I wanted to discover yours too, but I can’t follow you, and can’t see any posts. Did you just get started with blogging? Anyway, good luck with it!!
      Lots of love,
      Laura

      Like

Geef een reactie

