How To Make a Cheap Dream Catcher

Dream catchers are quite popular since a couple of years. I have to admit that I am a fan too. I find the object in itself beautiful, but I like the story behind it even more. It originates from the American Ojibwa tribe who wanted to protect their children from bad dreams, so they hung dream catchers to catch the bad dreams. Like Konrad J. Kaweczynski said:

Only good dreams would be allowed to filter through… Bad dreams would stay in the net, disappearing with the light of day.

And so the good dreams slide down the feathers to the person sleeping under it.

In Belgium dream catchers are quite expensive. For a small one you can easily pay ten euros. And since I’m just an average student I can’t spend 10 euros each time I see a dream catcher I like. So I tried to make one myself and you can too if you want to!

These are the materials you need:
– Feathers
– Ribbons
– Thread
– A pair of compasses
– Scissors
– A cutter
– Foil
– A piece of cardboard
– Super glue
– Pearls

DSC03741

The first step is to draw a circle on the cardboard. Draw an inner and an outer circle. Then cut it out with a cutter or scissors.

Now cut pieces of foil to wrap around the cardboard to make it stronger.

The next step is to glue a ribbon to the foil and wrap it around the hoop. Since I only had thin ribbons I decided to put silver washi tape around it… But I didn’t like the result. I thought it looked too much like duct tape, so I put glitter tape around instead.

Now take the thread and tie one end to the hoop by making a knot. Then wrap the other end over the hoop and make loops, evenly spread out and tie the end of your last loop to the beginning of the string.

Make a second round of stitches, tying them around the center of the first loops. Pull each stitch tight. Then begin the third round and so on.

You can add little pearls to your thread if you’d like to. Only begin using the pearls at the third round of stitches and don’t forget to pull them tight. When you’re finished, make a small knot at the end and cut the rest of the thread off. On the picture below you can see that I messed up somewhere.. I think I forgot to tie the end of the thread to the beginning at the first round… But I finished the dream catcher anyway!

DSC03766

Now, cut off some ribbon and attach it to the hoop like shown on the next picture.

Then I glued the ribbon at the top and also at the bottom, so the ribbon cannot come off. Do the same at the bottom of the hoop but don’t glue the ends of the ribbon.

Now, put some glue into a pearl and put the ribbon in it at one side and a feather at the other side. Do the same for the other end of the ribbon.

Your dream catcher is ready to hang above your bed!

Below you can see the first dream catcher I made with the aid of a manual. And as you can see I managed to weave the web as it should be :-)
What do you think of it?

Lots of love,
Laura

3 gedachtes over “How To Make a Cheap Dream Catcher

Geef een reactie

