Little owl with foil

DSC03663

I tried out something new. It’s a little owl on a canvas with foil. I’m not completely happy with the result, but it’s not that bad either. The reason I’m not super enthusiastic is because I think the owl doesn’t ‘pop out’ enough.

But if you want to give it a shot, here’s what you need:
– A canvas
– Foil
– A pencil
– A tube of glue
– A glue stick
– Paper towel
– Cotton swabs
– Shoe polish and a sponge
DSC03634The first step is to draw something on your canvas. First my thoughts were going to a butterfly but I saw an example with an owl and I really liked it. So I decided to draw an owl. Since my drawing skills aren’t overdeveloped I searched for owl drawings and kind of copied one.
Here’s the original and the one I drew:

Next, use the tube of glue to go over the lines of your drawing and let it dry for a night.

DSC03646

When the lines are dry, apply glue with the stick to the canvas, and put a piece of foil over it. Apply it with a paper towel, so you don’t break the foil. Wrap the foil around the canvas at the back of it. Next, go over the foil with a cotton swab. Begin near the lines so they really ‘come out’.

Then I used a dull pencil to go around the lines and draw some patterns. Well, some patterns.. because of a lack of inspiration I just drew circles.

The next step is to apply shoe polish with a sponge all over the foil, so the polish goes into the drawn lines. Then, wipe it off again with a paper towel and let it dry.

And it’s ready. Now, the reason I’m not that happy is because the circles I drew take in too much space in comparison with the owl. And I also think the glue I used for the lines wasn’t thick enough. Maybe I should have applied a second layer of glue… I’m not sure. Well, it’s not that bad for a first try, is it? What do you think?

Lots of love,
Laura

2 gedachtes over “Little owl with foil

Geef een reactie

