On-the-go Omelette

DSC03575


Everyone likes a nice omelette once in a while, but it’s really not easy to take with you when you’re having lunch outside. Well, a really easy way to take it with you is by just baking your omelette in a muffin pan in the oven.

What to put in an omelette? Whatever you can find in the fridge. The only ingredient you’ll need every time are obviously eggs.
Here is what I found in my fridge:
– eggs
– ham cut in small pieces
– a chilli pepper
– tomatoes
– basil
– chives
– cheese, I used emmental
– cream

DSC03550

Now, you can actually replace every ingredient by something else. You can use mushrooms, zucchini, eggplant, rasp some parmesan, bake some bacon,…

These are the steps to follow:

First preheat the oven to 190°C. Then cut the chilli pepper in half and take out the seeds with a knife or your fingers and cut it in little pieces. Be sure to wash the knife and your hands very very well afterwards. I was so stupid to scratch my lip and it was hor-ri-ble! My skin burned from my lip to my nose. That’s when I decided to put only half of the chilli pepper in the omelette.
After this, let’s call it a small incident, when I was finally able to bear the feeling of my lip and nose almost being burned, I continued with the tomatoes.
But don’t forget, it is really important to wash your hands!!

DSC03551 DSC03553

The next step is to cut all the other ingredients. Don’t forget to take the seeds out of the tomatoes. I only used two tomatoes, since I only had four eggs.

DSC03559Put the eggs in a bowl and add everything. Then, also add some spices. I used pepper, salt and dried oregano.

DSC03563 DSC03568

Mix a little and add a tablespoon or two of cream, the cheese, and continue mixing.

DSC03570Now pour the mixture into the muffin cups and sprinkle some more cheese over it. I managed to make nine omelettes out of four eggs!

DSC03573

DSC03572

Bake the omelettes in the preheated oven for about 20 minutes.
You can eat them warm or let them cool down first and take with you to work or to school.

DSC03577

Enjoy it!

DSC03597DSC03582 DSC03585

DSC03598

Lots of love,
Laura

2 gedachtes over “On-the-go Omelette

Geef een reactie

